awesome camera goodness

I’ve been utterly lazy (well my version of being lazy anyway, because I still do errands and such, though I didn’t clean the floors, shame on me) and yes, only took ONE photo in the last two weeks. I’m not forcing myself to take my camera out until next week because when I ‘make’ myself do such things, I just end up pointing the camera anywhere and, well, my photos suck ( I have proof but I’m too embarassed to show them online).

Anyhoo, it got me thinking about this summer and one of the things I’m quite excited about is using my lovely Agfa Optima Reflex 35mm TLR camera my wonderful husband bought me for my birthday last year.  Here is a not so good, yet epic picture of this beast:

sarah li cain-mumbled jumbles-awesome camera goodness01

I had to promise him not to have so many cameras in Shenzhen with us, so this sadly had to stay back.  I found it fairly easy to use, once I figured out that I can only really use the auto setting on the thing after half a roll into it (doh!)  I was only able to use either 100 or 200 ISO film which is unfortunate because I love to use my standard 400, but I’ll live.  The shutter button was a little awkward at first because it is in the front, but I got used to it quickly. The results for the photos were pretty good (lovely blue tones to it), and maybe this year I’m going to try some black and white film in it. I’ve seen reviews of this camera elsewhere and the photos looked nice. I will though, have to work on focusing with this camera better, because some of my images weren’t so sharp.

Here are some example photos:

sarah li cain-mumbled jumbles-awesome camera goodness02

Somewhere around Market Square, Pittsburgh

sarah li cain-mumbled jumbles-awesome camera goodness03

sarah li cain-mumbled jumbles-awesome camera goodness04

Again, for fumbling terribly with this camera, it seems pretty forgiving.  I hope that now there is not wedding to plan back home we’d have more free time for us to explore.

Yay for summer vacations!

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “awesome camera goodness

Leave a Reply

