‘Hidden Japan’ Exhibit

This past Sunday, I went to the OCT Art and Design Gallery (Not to be confused with the OCAT Art Terminal!) to check out the Hidden Japan photography exhibit by Kijuro Yahagi.   It is a collection of black and white images  that show places not usually visited. According to the description I read, he likes to look at the contrasts between the cities and rural areas in Japan.

This is the first time I’ve been to this venue, and what was great about it was that it was easy to find.  The building itself was nice.

sarah li cain-mumbled jumbles-hidden japan exihibit01

As for the images, I liked half and half. I really enjoyed most of the images that had a design element to it, such as his image of the celery fields shot in an abstract way to look like stairs.  It is apparent that he is also involved as in a designer. The other images that apply this element are his strongest images.  I get the sense that he really loves these rural areas and translates the beauty through visual composition.  Unfortunately, his images of the city weren’t as impressive.  There is not design element there, and as my hubby says, the images would look better in colour.

One of my favourite photos from the exhibition

sarah li cain-mumbled jumbles-hidden japan exihibit02

Still I am glad I got to go. It was better than sitting at home or, like most people, nursing their hangovers after a late night.

We went to the OCT Loft art market and had a lovely lunch at Idutang (service still sucks there, but the food was good). It was a good way to spend a nice Sunday afternoon.  I am going to try to do something like this more often.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “‘Hidden Japan’ Exhibit

Leave a Reply

