photography musings

I think I’m too hard on myself when it comes to taking photos. The more I think about it, the more I realize that I put too much pressure to take the perfect photo, or come up with something so profound that represents whatever it is I am trying to convey. And to be honest, those photos end up being the ones that, well, suck.  My favourite moments taking photos are with friends, or when I’m totally engrossed in the environment I am in .  I don’t know why I get so wound up in taking good photographs, maybe that comes with comparing myself to other people.  But I know that I can take decent photographs, and I do it to capture my life and share it with other people.  And that is what I should concentrate on.

When I am tired of putting so much pressure on myself, I tend to give up. I think that is why I haven’t really picked up my TLR or attempted to finish off my rolls of expired film (hmmmm…wonder if the sucky weather has to do with it too?).  I would like to go out and wander, since I do have a list of places I want to go to. Hopefully my molars won’t bother me too much this weekend (it’s a long weekend! yay!) after it gets taken out so I can at least use my camera sometime.

Here are some things I’m also going to try and do to take more photos:

1. Carry any camera anywhere with me: If I want to use my film, I can always carry my holga around, or my robot spy cam my husband bought me a while back (I have to find it! Who knew that even though I live in such a small space I can still lose things, haha). I also have my lovely little digital point and shoot which I do use quite often. I can always reserve my TLR or my Yashica Electro 35 GL for more ‘photographic outings’

2. Get more black and white film: I think the reason I have so much colour film left over is because I’ve exhausted my options at regular film developing places in Shenzhen (apparently there is a pro lab around, yet to go look yet) and going to HK sometimes is a bit of a chore (even though it takes 2 hrs to develop my film at this place), plus is damn expensive.  Plus, I can develop black and white film at home and it’s super easy. Anyhoo, maybe for every two rolls of colour film I do from now on, I can get a roll of black and white developed.

3. Take pictures of outings and ‘everyday mundane’ things:  I love taking photos of the delicious food I make (and trying to get better at composing photos of these creations) and my hubby when he allows me to. I’ve been taking photos of interesting things I pass by on the street everyday so that is a start.

I know that there are better photographers out there, but that is no reason to stop taking photos for me. I want to take photographs for wonderful memories too, and not to revel at how ‘professional’ they look.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Related Posts:

5 thoughts on “photography musings

  1. I can sympathise with you so much! As much as I love photography, I’m constantly comparing myself to others and I get annoyed at myself for not creating photos like other people. I use digital instead of film and have recently started editing them properly, which makes me feel a little better about my photography. Whenever I see professional photographs I end up getting depressed over mine, but they’re them and I’m me. I always have my SLR on me so I can take pictures as I please, and I’m trying to get into using manual because I want to have a proper understanding of exposures and the technicalities. Check my blog out sometime and tell me what you think, I’ll really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

