Ordinary Wonders

back alley of a restaurant

It’s interesting how much more you photograph when you are in a foreign country. I think that if a similar scene presented itself here in the USA, I probably would pass it on by. I wonder why that is? Is the trick to good photography to train yourself to look at all the scenes around you as new and foreign?

Even looking back when I was in foreign countries, in the beginning I would scoff at taking photos of such scenes. I wanted to take cool scenes of people and what I thought people would like, and not what I found interesting. It wasn’t until I started wandering around by myself that I let my guard down about having to take ‘wow’ photos and just looking around and analyzing what I thought was intriguing.  Clicking the shutter almost became intuitive at that point. I also learned that every photo I looked at, I could remember the exact moment I took it and why I liked the scene.

So perhaps photography isn’t necessarily about taking that great photo, but to appreciate all that is around you.  Capturing the photo is just a tangible way to show everyone else.

Related Posts:

3 thoughts on “Ordinary Wonders

Leave a Reply

