The Power of Listening

sarah li cain-mumbled jumbles-the power of listening

Mom, I look like a pretzel!

Last week (after reading an article about it and kind of obsessing about it, I’ll admit) I entered the lotus pose during the final Ashtanga postures.  I’ve tried before but my ankle ended up hurting, or I could feel my leg bone digging into the opposite thigh.  This time, as the DVD started to describe ‘bound lotus’, a voice inside my head just told me “Try it today. You read that article, Visualize how you will enter it and just do it. It’ll work.” I almost felt like I was outside myself looking down as I did it. I was quite elated and surprised afterward. I realize that every time I enter a new pose or go deeper into one (or without any modifications), that voice calls out.  I don’t know what to call it. Intuition? The mind and body connecting? Some higher power in the universe telling this to me? Either way I listen and I receive.  I focus, imagine, bring myself to the present moment and magic happens.

Listening is a powerful skill that sadly people don’t practice too much of these days. They may hear, but to listen is also to receive what you are given. I think that listening to oneself is the hardest of all. What if you are denying the truth because you don’t want to deal with the emotions that come with it? What if you don’t want to admit fault? Or are simply just scared?

But the thing is, listening has numerous benefits. It helps you improve, move on with your life, grow.  How can you learn if you don’t listen to your teachers, your peers? How can you know if your health (mental and physical) is good if you don’t listen to yourself?

Listen and you shall receive.

Related Posts:

7 responses to “The Power of Listening

  1. Pingback: Moving Forward | Mumbled Jumbles·

  2. Pingback: Honesty | Mumbled Jumbles·

  3. Pingback: My Class at Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong | Mumbled Jumbles·

  4. Pingback: Ashtanga at the Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong | Mumbled Jumbles·

Leave a Reply

